Thursday, June 16, 2011

Mandibular Nerve

The mandibular nerve is one of the three branches of the trigeminal nerve (CN V). Composed of both sensory and motor fibers, the mandibular nerve supplies sensory fibers to the lower jaw, the floor of the mouth, the anterior two-thirds of the tongue, and the lower teeth, also supplying motor fibers to the muscles of mastication.

The sensory and motor roots of the mandibular nerve exit the middle cranial fossa through the foramen ovale. The two roots then combine and divides into two trunks, an anterior and a posterior. It is also called also inferior maxillary nerve mandibula.

Mandibular nerve gives off the following branches: A- auricolotemporal; B- lingual; C- inferior alveolar; D-  nerve to the mylohyoid; E- mental; F- buccal. The masseteric nerve, the deep temporal nerves, and the lateral pterygoid nerve are branches of the anterior division and are not in the drawing above.