Wednesday, October 24, 2012


Malaria is a world-wide infectious disease caused by four or more species of parasitic protozoans of the genus Plasmodium, which are transmitted or transferred to humans by mosquitoes of the genus Anopheles. The four known species of protozoans that trigger malaria are: Plasmodium vivax, Plasmodium malariae, Plasmodium falciparum, and Plasmodium ovale. Once in the blood stream, they occupy and destroy erythrocytes (red blood cells). The symptoms of malaria are: remittent chills and high fever, profuse sweating, anemia, and weakness. It is an endemic disease of the tropical regions of the planet, such as the Caribbean islands, Central America, South America, Africa, and Southeast Asia.


Quinine, which was the first medicine used in the past to treat malaria, chloroquine, tetracycline, cleocin. Due to the high fever and sweating, intravenous rehydration solution must be administered to the patient.