Thursday, October 18, 2012

Solar System

The Solar System the group of celestial bodies, composed of the local star, called Sun, and nine planets which orbit around it in an elliptical pattern. The Solar System is part of the Milky Way galaxy. The Sun, which exerts a strong gravitational attraction on the planets and moons rotating around it, has seven hundred times the total mass of all the other celestial bodies of the system, including asteroids, comets and debris. The planets of the Solar System are: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto.