Saturday, March 23, 2013

Andean Volcanic Belt

The Andean Volcanic Belt is a chain of active volcanos that stretches along the Andes Mountain Range, from Colombia to Chile. It is composed of four volcanic zones; the first one begins with Nevado del Ruiz volcano in Colombia and ends in Ecuador; the second zone strings along the part of the Andes Range that stretches from Peru to Bolivia; the third one lies along the border of Chile and Argentina, where the highest active volcanos of the system are found, such as Antofalla (6,400 m) and Aracar (6,100 m); and the last volcanic zone goes from southern Chile and ends up in Tierra del Fuego.