Thursday, May 15, 2014

Carpal bones

The carpal bones are the eight small bones that make up the base of the hand. Arranged in two rows, they are called carpus as they are firmly joined together by four groups of ligament. The upper row, or distal row, is composed of the trapezium, trapezoid, capitate, and hamate, while the lower row, or proximal row, consists of the scaphoid, lunate, triquetrum, and pisiform. They articulate with the five metacarpal bones and the radius and ulna.